Florida Farmer of the Year

The Florida Farmer of the Year award recognizes outstanding agriculturists who demonstrate excellence in agriculture.  The Florida Farmer of the Year serves as an advocate and spokesperson for the Florida Farm Bureau and is recognized at its annual meeting in October.

The Florida Farmer of the Year is one of nine Southeastern State Farmers of the Year who will complete for the Swisher/Sunbelt Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year Award in Moultrie, Ga.  Ten states participate in the program. Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

Past Florida Farmers of the Year:

2024: Jason Watts, Florida Best Farms, Polk County

2023: Wade Purvis, Collier County

2022: Jerry Dakin,  Manatee County

2020-21: Rick Roth, Palm Beach County

2019: Charles Obern, Hendry County
2018: Lynetta Usher Griner, Levy County
2017: Mark Wilson, Miami-Dade County
2016: Paul Dimare, Miami-Dade County
2015: Vic Story, Jr., Polk County
2014: C. Dennis Carlton, Hillsborough County
2013: John Scott Long, Martin County
2012: Dale McClellan (Overall Winner), Hillsborough County
2011: Ron St. John, Gilchrist County
2010: John Hundley, Palm Beach County
2009: Cary Lightsey (Overall Winner), Polk County
2008: Randy Strode, Seminole County
2007: Alto L. “Bud” Adams Jr., St. Lucie County
2006: Damon Deas, Hamilton County
2005: Louis “Red” Larson (Overall Winner), Okeechobee County
2004: Dale Sauls, Marion County
2003: Sonny Williamson, Jr., Okeechobee County
2002: Will Putnam, III, Polk County
2001: Gene Batson, Lake County
2000: Damon Deas, Hamilton County
1999: Doug Holmberg (Overall Winner), Hillsborough County
1998: John Hoblick, Volusia County
1997: Rex Clonts, Jr. (Overall Winner), Seminole County
1996: Al Bellotto, Polk County
1995: Richard Barber, Jr., Marion County
1994: Bill Long, Orange County
1993: Leroy Baldwin (Overall Winner), Marion County
1992: Wayne Wiggins, Hillsborough County
1991: Ernest Nunez (Overall Winner), Pasco County
1990: Ernest Nunez, Pasco County 

Farmer of the Year | Sunbelt Ag Expo in Moultrie, Georgia