Area Lawmakers Receive Legislator of the Year Honor from Florida Farm Bureau

October 2022

State Sen. Ben Albritton and Rep. Lawrence McClure have earned Florida Farm Bureau’s 2022 Legislator of the Year award for their outstanding leadership during the 2022 Legislative Session.

The state legislators were instrumental in their sponsorship and passage of Senate Bill 1000, a bill relating to nutrient application rates bill, which ensures that nutrient rates applied are in compliance with state water quality standards.

“We are incredibly grateful for Representative McClure and Senator Albritton’s commitment to the agriculture industry in our state, and cannot thank them enough for their willingness to speak up in Tallahassee on behalf of Florida’s farmers and ranchers,” said Florida Farm Bureau Legislative Affairs Director Courtney Larkin.

Pictured from right to left: FFB President Smith (right) presents Sen. Ben Albritton with Florida Farm Bureau’s Legislator of the Year Award at its state annual meeting last week.

Sen. Albritton represents citizens in Charlotte, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands, Okeechobee and Polk counties.

Sen. Albritton served on the Peace River Valley Citrus Growers Association Board from 2002 to 2007, and in 2005, he was appointed to the Florida Citrus Commission by Governor Jeb Bush, where he served until 2010 following reappointment by Governor Charlie Crist, including a tenure as Chairman from 2007 to 2010. He and his wife Missy, have three children.

Pictured from right to left: FFB President Jeb S. Smith presents Rep. Lawrence McClure with Florida Farm Bureau’s Legislator of the Year Award at the Legislative Luncheon on Oct. 27 during the organization’s state annual meeting.

Rep. McClure represents citizens in Hillsborough county and is a member of the Hillsborough County Farm Bureau board. McClure has strong ties to agriculture and resides in Dover with his wife, Courtney, and daughter Savannah.