Excellence in Agriculture Finalists Announced

Sept. 10, 2013

Gainesville – Three finalists have been selected to compete for Florida Farm Bureau’s 2013 Excellence in Agriculture Award and will compete in October for the top statewide honor.

This year’s finalists are: Kelvin Moreno, Dade County, Tamara Wood, Pasco County and Nicholas and Kiley Larsen, Western Palm Beach County.

The Excellence in Agriculture award recognizes members of Florida Farm Bureau’s Young Farmers and Ranchers program who excel in their involvement in agriculture, leadership abilities, involvement in Farm Bureau and other civic and service organizations.

“We are proud of our young producers who are actively contributing to Farm Bureau and making a positive impact on behalf of Florida agriculture,” said Florida Farm Bureau President John Hoblick.
The Excellence in Agriculture Award applicants do not derive a majority of their incomes from normal production risk. The winner will receive $500 cash, an ATV four-wheeler and an expense-paid trip to the AFBF Annual Meeting held January 2014 in San Antonio, Texas.

Each finalist must make a presentation and answer questions in front of a three-judge panel during the Farm Bureau’s 2013 Annual Meeting at the Sawgrass Marriott Resort in Ponte Vedra Beach October 23-25.
Last year’s Excellence in Agriculture winner was Emily Eubanks of Alachua County.

# # #

Florida Farm Bureau is the Sunshine State’s largest general agricultural organization with more than 147,000 member-families representing Farm Bureaus in 60 counties. Membership provides a multitude of benefits and you don’t have to be a farmer to be a member of Florida Farm Bureau.