Next Generation of Agricultural Leaders Selected

Aug. 29, 2014

Gainesville, Fla.– Florida Farm Bureau has announced the selection of outstanding young agriculturists, ages 18-35, for the 2014-2016 Young Farmers & Ranchers Leadership Group.

The Young Farmers & Ranchers Leadership Group trains in a two-year program that empowers young farmers to be effective agricultural leaders at the local, state and national level.  The following individuals or couples will serve as members of the group:

District 1: Lee Bigham, Jackson County and Tyler Brown, Santa Rosa County; District 2: Alex and Emily Murphy, Hamilton County; District 3: Chance Clay, Putnam/St. Johns County and Tomas Ford, Nassau County; District 4: Justin and Tiffany Ingle,  Alachua County and Chris and Julie Wall, Marion County; District 5: Tiffany Dale, Hillsborough County and Christian Spinosa, Polk County; District 6: Rob Bullock, Highlands County and Jay Ryals, Desoto/Charlotte County; District 7: Courtney Davis, Okeechobee County and Kevin Kersey, Osceola County; District 8: Ethan Basore, Western Palm Beach County and Lindsey Bowen, Hendry/Glades County

“We are excited to provide young farmers the opportunity to network with other young farmers and help expand their knowledge of agricultural issues,” said Florida Farm Bureau’s Young Farmers & Ranchers Program Coordinator Michael Rogalsky. “These young people are committed to tackling the challenges that face agriculture.”

Group members will spend the next 24 months refining their leadership abilities by focusing on personal growth, public speaking, media relations, legislative awareness, issue advocacy, business development, networking and service leadership.

Florida Farm Bureau, the state’s largest general agricultural organization, represents more than 147,000 member-families. We serve to enhance farm enterprise and improve rural communities.