Okeechobee County Journalist Earns Statewide Award

Nov. 2, 2016

2016 Newsperson-Katrina ElskenGainesville, Fla. – Katrina Elsken of Okeechobee County has received Florida Farm Bureau Federation’s 2016 Newsperson of the Year Award. She accepted the honor during an Oct. 27 general session at Florida Farm Bureau’s Annual Meeting in Orlando.

The organization presents the award annually to a journalist who has provided superior news coverage of Florida’s farm families and production agriculture. Judges faced a formidable challenge in selecting a recipient this year because of the number of worthy nominees. Elsken was nominated by the Okeechobee County Farm Bureau for her work as the editor and publisher of Okeechobee News.

Okeechobee County Farm Bureau President Jacob Larson noted in his nomination letter, she “understands everything agriculture has done to protect the water of south Florida.”

Elsken’s articles and columns give farmers in the region a responsible platform in public policy discussions about natural resource conservation and food production.

Florida Farm Bureau Federation offers the Newsperson of the Year Award as part of a continuing program of recognition for excellence in the general news media.

Florida Farm Bureau, the state’s largest general agricultural organization, represents more than 145,000 member-families. We serve to enhance farm enterprise and improve rural communities.

#  # #

Media contacts:
G.B. Crawford, Public Relations Director
[email protected]

Jason Davison, Interim Director of Field Services
[email protected]