Newsperson of the Year

Florida Farm Bureau offers the Newsperson of the Year Award as part of a continuing program of recognition for excellence in the general news media. Journalists who have provided superior news coverage of Florida’s farm families and production agriculture are recognized each year. County Farm Bureaus can nominate a journalist for this award annually and it is presented at the state organization’s annual meeting in October.

Nominate a newsperson for 2024. Nominations are due by Friday, August 16, 2024, at 5 p.m.

2023: Kathleen Rasche, Volusia County
2022: Dawn West, Nassau County
2021: Nelson Kirkland, Polk County
2020: Tom Flanigan, Leon County
2019: Barbara Nielsen, Manatee County
2018: Phil Marraccini, Dade County
2017: Jo Ayers, Gilchrist County
2016: Katrina Elsken, Okeechobee County