Timeline- 75 Years Strong


1941 Arcade Bldg. Orlando (1st headquarters)

1941-Federation headquarters established at the Arcade Building in Orlando.
1941-George Fullerton is elected as FFB’s first president at the first Annual Meeting on November 15, 1941.
1942-First County Farm Bureau formed in Dade County.
1942-Florida orange crop totals 27,000 boxes.
1943-First issue of the Bulletin published (now FloridAgriculture)
1943-Vegetable Committee formed.
1943-Doug R. Igou is elected as FFB’s 3rd president and set up the Water and Drainage Committee to address the state’s increasing water problems.
1945-Social and Educational Committee established (now Women’s Leadership Committee).
1949-The Agricultural Act of 1949 established as permanent legislation of U.S. agricultural policy.
1949-Kent Doke, Alachua Co., receives first Winn-Dixie/FFB Scholarship.
1949-Open range in Florida closes.



1956 FFB Headquarters off U.S. 441 in Gainesville (3rd location)

1950-FFB Headquarters relocated to Winter Park in a renovated former municipal golf course clubhouse.
1950The Bulletin becomes Florida Agriculture.
1951-Ed Finlayson is elected as FFB’s 7th president and serves 14 years.
1953-FFB has its first legislative agricultural victory with the gas tax refund for farmers.
1954-Florida Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company is established.
1956-FFB moves its headquarters to Gainesville off of U.S. 441.
1957-Florida citrus groves extend across more than 603,000 acres.
1958-“Banner County” competition formed to recognize outstanding counties.
1959-Greenbelt Property Tax Assessments for Agricultural Lands.



Governor Claude Kirk Late 60s

1965-Florida Agricultural Marketing Association (FAMA) is established.
1962-Tire, Battery and Accessory (TBA) program is established.
1962-First county secretaries’ conference is held at the Gainesville state headquarters.
1964-Gov. Farris Bryant proclaimed Sept. 13-19 as Farm Bureau Week.
1964-IFAS is created.
1967-E.H. Finlayson, Madison Co., and Ms. George W. Munroe, Gadsden Co., receive first Distinguished Service Award.
1969-Walter Kautz is elected as FFB’s 9th president. He will become the first president to serve full-time.




1971-Alvin Henderson, Madison Co., is the first to receive the Outstanding Young Farmer and Rancher Award (now Achievement in Agriculture Award).
1971-Farm Bureau Women lead their first Farm-City Week.
1971-Rhonda Thomas, Martin Co., receives FloridAgriculture Award.
1973-FFB moves its headquarters to its current building in Gainesville.
1973-FFB president serves as Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President becomes Assistant to the President.
1974-Florida becomes Right to Work state.
1974-Women’s Kidney Fund is established.
1976-Ms. Francine Hancock, Pasco Co., wins YF&R Discussion Meet.



FArm tour mid 80s (Carl Loop far Right)

1980-Marc Price, Hillsborough Co., wins Youth Leadership Speaking Contest.
1983-Carl B. Loop, Jr. is elected as FFB’s 10th president.
1984-A permanent Legislative office is established in Tallahassee.



Sign after Hurricane Andrew 1992

1991-FFBF Commodities Division becomes the Agricultural Policy Division.
1992-Hurricane Andrew strikes Florida-then, one of the costliest disasters in history.
1994-Citrus Canker declared eradicated and FFB sought indemnification for growers.
1996-Florida “Ag Tag” specialty plate established.



2001-FFB establishes the CARES program to recognize farmers and ranchers for environmental stewardship.
2005-Farm Bureau successfully advocates for power farm equipment sales tax exemption.
2006-John Hoblick, Volusia Co., is elected as FFB’s president.
2009-Employ Florida Banner Center for Agriscience is established.




2013-FFB receives the Pinnacle Award from AFBF. The award represents all categories of program excellence.
2014-FFB receives the Pinnacle Award from AFBF for the second consecutive year.
2015-Farm Bureau successfully advocates for sales tax exemption on parts and repairs.