Florida Farm Bureau Members Inducted into Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame

October 2023

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services announced the 2023 Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame inductees. John Hoblick, Eugene McAvoy and John Schlechter are Florida Farm Bureau members who will join more than 170 other inductees in the Hall of Fame. The 2024 honorees will be inducted at the Florida State Fair’s Agricultural Hall of Fame Banquet on Feb. 13, 2024.

Hoblick is a third-generation farmer in DeLeon Springs and served as the Florida Farm Bureau president from 2006-2021. During his tenure he tirelessly advocated for a wide range of agricultural issues that benefitted farm and ranch families statewide.

McAvoy serves on the Hendry/Glades County Farm Bureau board and has been a voice for agriculture for more than 50 years.

Schlechter is a lifelong farmer and agricultural advocate. He has been a member of Western Palm Beach County Farm Bureau for more than 60 years and was recognized as the county Farm Bureau’s 1992-93 Farm Family of the Year.

The Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame honors men and women who have made long-term contributions to Florida agriculture. Those inducted have dedicated time and resources to ensure the industry continues to thrive.

Read more about the 2024 inductees here